Key Stage 2

"Already consecrated by baptism and confirmation for the common priesthood of all the faithful, those who receive the sacrament of Holy Orders (deacons, priest, bishops) are entrusted with the apostolic ministry: to preach the Gospel, preside in the celebration of the sacraments and be leaders and servants according to Christ’s example. They have responsibilities for the faithfulness of the Church to the Word of God. The promises of marriage – to a faithful, exclusive, life-long partnership of love open to the gift of children – make it a visible sacrament of God’s faithful and creative love"
Religious Education Curriculum Directory p.25

"The gifts of the Holy Spirit enable us to share the mission of the Church" 
Religious Education Curriculum Directory p.34

6.6 Called to Serve

Learning ABOUT and learning FROM the Catholic Faith

Key Learning Objectives

In this unit you will have the opportunity to:

  • know Jesus’ teaching on and example of service;
  • recognise that God has given us all gifts and talents to use in the service of him and his people;
  • know the gifts of the Holy Spirit and understand that we receive these in a special way in the Sacrament of Confirmation;
  • know the different ways we can serve God and others as priests, religious sisters, married and lay people;
  • know about the Sacrament of Ordination and the role of the priest within the Church;
  • know that Marriage is a Sacrament and is a special form of commitment and service.

In this unit you will have the opportunity to:

  • reflect on the gifts and talents God has given us;
  • reflect on the use we make of these gifts;
  • reflect on ways we can show love in our own families;
  • identify ways we can take part in the life of the Church.